RT: @BREAKING NEWS: Governor Kaine denies clemency for sniper John Allen Muhammad, clearing the way for today’s execution set for 9pm

200px-John_Allen_Muhammad

October 2nd – October 22nd the Eastcoast experienced something called the ‘The Beltway Sniper Attacks”

The only thing I remember is suddenly my mom wouldn’t let me and my cousin leave her sight. I was 14 and he was 15. We lived in a Richmond City suburb, where every Saturday Morning we would walk to the Westover Hill Library, go to Walgreens to grab Gatorade, and then go to the park and play soccer or ride our skateboards. Our routine, now ended, because of a new era in America or was it a new terror in America?

I lived a sheltered life. Everything was perfect, I didn’t know evil, but I knew there was such as thing as ‘accidents’. Like it was an ‘accident’ when my uncle, the best uncle in the world, was murdered for no apparent reason. It was an accident. I knew when a cousin was shot and paralyzed waist down, it was an ‘accident’. Accidents happened, but there was no evil. Just ‘accidents’.  I grew up alittle more, and then my freshman year of high school I listened  as the report of another ‘accident’ happened. The twin towers were hit by planes.

Accidents

But then again, nothing just happens. See it was an ‘accident’ that killed countless amounts of people on 911. And an ‘accident’ that we couldn’t contact my stepdad until almost three days later, after this ‘accident. What I learn in September of 2001 and again in October 2002, is there is no such thing as accidents, but there was evil.

We all make choices, those choices have consequences, and everyone around us has to live with them. There are no accidents!

Today I received the following tweet from a local news affiliate:

RT: @BREAKING NEWS: Governor Kaine denies clemency for sniper John Allen Muhammad, clearing the way for today’s execution set for 9pm

Tonight, he, John Allen Mohammad, will be murdered for the murders he committed. I’m 22 and I still am not sure how I feel about these kinds of things.  Part of me wants to still believe a person cannot be pure evil, and yet the crimes he committed tells me otherwise. I still haven’t processed nor wanted to process what can manipulate the human heart to commit such acts against another. I didn’t get it at 13 watching on television as the towers, my dad took me to, collapse before my eyes. I didn’t get it watching the news at 14, as they announced the sniper has hit a Ashland restaurant we’d frequented. I still don’t get it at 22. I don’t get Ft Hood, I don’t get it.

I dont get the crimes we commit against each other… The things we say and do, the ways we hurt each other. I’m not just talking about the big things like murder or hitting someone with a car, but those little things too. Those things we do on purpose. The ways I intentionally hurt the people surrounding me, because I needed to, because they deserved it. Its been said that, Hope deferred makes the human heart sick. Well what makes it sick enough to be a habitual offender? I believe in the death penalty, I do. But within my heart, somehow I still feel bad for him. Somehow, inside of this heart that has been a victim of loss in life, I still say God forgive them, ‘cos if I can’t ask you to forgive them, I can’t ask you to forgive me. This heart that knows the feeling of a 2am phone call about your loved one, the knock on your door with two uniforms telling you what happened, somehow this heart, feels sad. Sad that we don’t know God, Jehovah God, like He would desire us to.  That Jesus hasn’t gotten the chance to heal our heart of the wounds.

I don’t understand it, for my heart believes he deserves this, but somewhere inside it hurts for him.

Maybe that’s how the end of this era of terror in America will be done. When people are finally able to say God help us all, for we’ve all fallen short of the glory of God, and wages for sin is death.

I don’t understand evil, nor do I want to understand what drives a man this far. Evil breeds evil. Love breeds love. They cannot coexist, one will over power the other. This time around I pray at the end of this era, love will overpower the evil in this world and under it.

