Isaiah 6

In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord seated on a throne, high and exalted, and the train of his robe filled the temple. 2 Above him were seraphs, each with six wings: With two wings they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with two they were flying. 3 And they were calling to one another:
“Holy, holy, holy is the LORD Almighty;
the whole earth is full of his glory.”

At the sound of their voices the doorposts and thresholds shook and the temple was filled with smoke.

So there was a king who died. He was a well beloved king, so beloved that even Isaiah was emotional about it. The whole land was in mourning, and in that season Isaiah had what could’ve been the deepest encounter with God recorded other than John the Revelator. What seems to amaze me is that just like Isaiah some of my deepest God encounters have been in the midst of broken hearted moments. Moments where it seemed to hard to press forward.

See for so long in the body we’ve been telling the weepers to shut up, your out of order, clean yourself up, but as Bishop Garlington puts it, ” How will God botttle my tears if you shoving tissues across my face.”  We’ve long forgotten that weeping isn’t bad, and it isn’t always out of order, but sometimes its nessacary.

There’s something about tears!

There’s a truth in tears and grief that you cannot find anywhere else. Its amazing isn’t it? I was raised in a family where you didn’t where your emotions on your sleeve, men and woman alike were found to be weak if you dare let a drop come down your face. So I walked around in the depths of depression, smiling to everyone, pretending like all was well, I was the jokester, the comedien by sight, when really on the  inside I was torn up and suicidal.  In 9 different kinds of pain, but lying through it all saying, ” Its ok, its alright.” I rarely let my guard down and truthfully can only remember crying 4x in front of those close to me in my cognizant life ( I say cognizant cos I can’t remember past 7, getting old). Anyway, I remember I went through a betrayal in ministry, and I wrote my leader a letter concerning it, when she and her husband received it, they called me, and the water works begain! See there’s a truth in tears that words, pictures, and other things cannot express. I understand there are manipulative people out there, but I’m not talking about that, I’m talking about the real thing. See the truth was, my heart was tender and I gave all I could and it wasn’t enough and it hurt. My tears expressed that to my leader.

So here’s my question for you:

What truth is shown to God in your tears?

Yes He knows everything, but our actions in our relationship with Him sometimes says we don’t want Him to know everything about us.

Are you/we/am I, willing to become naked before Him with your/our/my brokeness? Am I willing to lay aside my so easily built pride and let Him know me better than anyone with the truth of my tears.

When your willing to be honest before Him, you can encounter Him like never before!

Ready for some smoke to fill your temple?

