I’m listening to Ed Young right now. He has been speaking on the subject of “The Pit” I’ve had alot of “pits” in my life, painful ones.

Betrayal in relationships

Betrayal in the workplace

Betrayal in Ministry

Betrayal by Mentors

Betrayal in Family

Betrayal is hard, heartbreaking, and tool to make you an impenetrable wall to those you should embrace.

My biggest fear has been the things that have shoved me in a pit, will be the things that will keep me from living a whole life. I’m not as much concerned with success, money, clothes, jobs, and etc. I want a whole, complete, healthy life. But holding onto the things that have come to break us and grow us, only holds us and makes us thorny roses.

A thorny rose is beautiful, but untouchable.

Yesterday I had the opportunity to be with my pastors at a church in Newport News, she brought a word of freedom. 2 statement were made that impacted me greatly.

  1. Its not what we’ve been through or who we are that holds us back, its what we see ourselves as that holds us back. That hit me, broke me, and still breaks me in this very moment.
  2. 22, its the end of 21 and the beginning of new.

Now to anyone else the statement may seem so simple and maybe obvious, but not to me.The past 21 yrs hve been nice, they’ve also had some hard moment, some angry moments, and definitely bitter ones. But I’m done with that… I have to be. This doesn’t mean I forget, become a doormat, it doesn’t mean those thing aren’t and weren’t painful, it means I’m choosing to grow up and allow God to use those things to Grow me up.

With all that said, its caused me to think about those who possible have been hurt by me, people I’ve pushed into the pit, people I’ve rejected out of bitterness and need to protect myself. I’m truly sorry for that, and truly sorry for those times I’ve chosen to embarrass those who embarrassed me, thats not kind nor tender, which is what I want to be. So forgive me God, and help me to forgive.

Or, you may fall on your knees and pray—to God’s delight!
You’ll see God’s smile and celebrate,
finding yourself set right with God.
You’ll sing God’s praises to everyone you meet,
testifying, ‘I messed up my life—
and let me tell you, it wasn’t worth it.
But God stepped in and saved me from certain death.
I’m alive again! Once more I see the light!’

This is my view from the ladder coming out of the pit, and I must say, its lookin mighty nice!

Peace & Mexican Cheese!

