its been a long time since I’ve done this, way too long actually. Blogging is what I’m talking about btw. I’m sitting here, listening to Moving Forward. I have a sermon on it, devotionals I’ve written. See last time I talked about moving forward was for driven. Moving forward is a song written by Ricardo Sanchez and Israel Houghton, a song last year around this time I was learning with the worship team I was a part off. Last year I was trying to move forward in many ways, but couldn’t. I couldn’t ‘cos it wasn’t time nor the right things to move forward too. I had my plans with Daystar, moving to Dallas and leaving Richmond behind, but then as always God doesn’t mind His business especially about His kids. He sends me not one, two, but three, THREE, major spiritual influences in my life to say, ” hey heather the Lord woke me up 3am and gave me a word for you. He says to be still and know, He’s got this.” Boy was I pissed! Forgive my bluntness, but Brooklyn still runs through my veins. So a year later I’m looking back, as I’m moving forward and boy is it glorious! The other day I was looking through my new bible and came across the scripture reference,

Psalms 46:10 Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

I honestly got very nervous and slammed my bible shut after seeing that verse. I’se thinking, ” GOD, last time you said that I went through some stuff! Stuff I’m still figuring out.” So God being God, being the God who doesn’t mind His business about His kids, stepped in and quieted me with a different perspective, or translation I shall say.

Psalms 46:8-10 Attention, all! See the marvels of God! He plants flowers and trees all over the earth, Bans war from pole to pole, breaks all the weapons across his knee. “Step out of the traffic! Take a long, loving look at me, your High God, above politics, above everything.”

So at this point it seems like the info I shared above isn’t so relevant to where I’m going with this, but is. See what I was planning and where I was going is neither here or there, but the real work, the real issue is where I see my God. My moving forward or change was to run, it was this relationship is too hard, ministry stuff too hard, people are messing with my name, its too hard, politics too hard, but I forgot, so he said to be still or TAKE A STEP OUT OF TRAFFIC! So I did just that, and will continually endeavor to do that, step out of the traffic and take a long, loving look at Him, my high God above politics, above everything. I guess the thing you should think on if you are reading this, what is it that God is calling you to take a step out of traffic and just look at Him for who He is? Please don’t misinterpret my intentions with this post, I’m not telling anyone to pack up and move forward, but that sometimes you are called only to move out of traffic and gaze at Him with loving eyes. Not as a rebuke, but mind maze, have we been convinced politics (in physical and spiritual sense) is above Him? Maybe your job, relationships or lack thereof, ex’s, money, I mean that all can fall under the everything category! So what do you think?

Can you step out of the traffic of your life, and take a long loving look at me, you High God, above politics, above everything?

